Renewal Information

The tag office cannot guarantee a prebill will be received in the mail.

Motor Vehicle tag renewals are due on the owner’s birthday. If you were a resident of Dawson County last year and renewed your tag in Dawson County last year, then you should receive a bill 60 days prior to your birthday in the mail. If you did not, bring your registration with tag number to the Tax Commissioner’s Office.

Your insurance information must be electronically transmitted by your insurance company and electronically matched to the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety’s record for your vehicle.

Effective January 1, 2004, Georgia County Tag Offices and Georgia Law Enforcement officers must verify insurance in the computer and cannot use an individual’s insurance card for valid proof of insurance for any motor vehicle with the exception of any vehicle covered by Fleet Insurance Policy or a Self Insurance Policy.

The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date (midnight of your birthday). Unless you fall under the new TAVT system.

Detailed information regarding vehicle registration and titles, and samples of what is available for special tags may be found at the Georgia Department of Revenue website.

Transfer From Another County

You will need to bring your current registration cards along with your valid Georgia Drivers License with a Dawson County address. We will transfer you to Dawson County and give you the correct county stickers for your tag at no charge.

New Purchases

From a dealer:
All vehicles must be registered within 30 days of purchase. No one can register a car in the state of Georgia with out a title applied for at the time of registration or a dealer/lien holder applying for a title. Other items you will need are:

  1.  Acceptable proof of insurance
  2. Georgia Drivers License or copy of primary owner's Drivers License with Dawson County address.

From an individual:
All vehicles must be registered within 7 days of purchase. Items you will need are:

  1. Title from individual selling vehicle – correctly signed.
  2. Acceptable proof of insurance.
  3. Georgia Drivers License with a Dawson County address.
  4. Current Mileage - unless exempt

You are required to title all 1986 and newer vehicles prior to registration. All owners need to be present with valid identification and acceptable proof of insurance.

Transfer From Another State

New residents to Georgia must have the following documents in order to register a vehicle:

Vehicle With No Lien

  1. Out of State Title
  2. Current Registration from Previous State
  3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
  4. Georgia Drivers License with Dawson County Address
  5. Current Mileage - unless exempt

Vehicle With Lien

  1. Loan Agreement with Complete Name and Address of Lien Holder
  2. T-17 Affidavit of Lien Holder (available at tag office)
  3. Proof of Georgia Insurance
  4. Georgia Drivers License with Dawson County Address
  5. Current Mileage - unless exempt


If you are leasing your car contact your leasing company and request a Limited Power of Attorney for the vehicle to be registered. You will need that original limited power of attorney, acceptable proof of insurance, copy of the title, leasing agreement and a Georgia Drivers License with a Dawson County address.


Taxes on Motor Vehicles are due on the owner’s birth date unless you are under the new TAVT program. Vehicles owned by a business pay tax based on the first letter of the Business name. The annual ad valorem tax is based on the 40% value of the vehicle. Taxes are due on a vehicle, even when the vehicle is not in use.

Tag Fee (regular tag) for passenger vehicles and trucks with gross weight up to 14,000 - $20.00
Title Transfer Fee -Percentage of the fair market value of the vehicle
Replacement Tag, Decal, or Title - $8.00
Trailers with a gross vehicle weight of less than 2,000 pounds are not required to be titled in Georgia. The previous registration is required.
Trucks with a gross vehicle weight over 14,000 (Truck and load) fees are based on the weight.

MVD Self-Service Centers

Residents with registered vehicles in participating counties can take advantage of new Georgia MVD Self-Service Centers for a fast and convenient alternative when completing MVD transactions such as vehicle registration renewal, International Registration Plan (IRP) payment, and more.

Service Centers use scanning and touchscreen kiosk technology to securely update vehicle information through step-by-step instructions and optional voice assistance. Simply follow the guided on-screen instructions. After a successful renewal, documents print instantly at the kiosk.

Available Transaction Services and Requirements:

Vehicle Tag Renewal

  1. You must live in a participating county.

  2. Your Georgia State driver’s license or your renewal notice. Manual entry is available.

  3. Your renewal notice contains your correct address.

  4. Pay all registration fees, taxes and the convenience fees by debit or credit card or cash (where available). You will know the actual cost before you complete the transaction. You may cancel at any time before the transaction is complete.

  5. You must have proof of liability insurance on file (if applicable).

  6. You must have a Vehicle Emission Inspection on file (if applicable).

If you meet all requirements shown above, you may renew up to 10 vehicle registrations per transaction at an MVD Service Center. If you have additional questions, please contact your local Tax Commissioner’s Tag Office.


* Participating county only.


Banks County*

Carroll County
423 College Street
Carrollton, GA 30117

Cobb County
700 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060
M-F 8:30AM-5PM

Cobb County
4700 Austell Road
Austell, GA 30106
24 Hour Service

Dawson County*

Dekalb County*

Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Division Office
4125 Welcome All Road
Atlanta, GA 30349
M-F 7:30AM-4:30PM

Douglas County*

Hall County
North Hall Community Center
4175 Nopone Road
Gainesville, GA 30606
Sat 8AM-5PM
Sun 1PM-5PM

Haralson County*

Henry County
140 Henry Parkway
McDonough, GA 30253
M,Th 8AM-6:30PM

Henry County
Ellenwood Kroger
101 Fairview Road
Ellenwood, GA 30294
Sun-Sat 6AM-1AM

Newton County*

Oconee County*

Richmond County
3464-A Peach Orchard Road
Augusta, GA 30906
M-F 8:30AM-5PM
Sat 8:30AM-12PM

Rockdale County
969 Pine Street
Conyers, GA 30012
M,T,Th,F 8AM-4:30PM
W 9:30AM-6PM
Closed 1PM-2PM daily

Walton County
Loganville Kroger
4753 Atlanta Highway
Loganville, GA 30052
Sun-Sat 24 Hours



Transaction Processing Time

The average transaction takes less than two minutes. After a successful renewal, documents print immediately at the kiosk, including registration certificates, renewal decals, IRP tags, and others.

Payment Options

Accepted payment options include credit or debit cards (AMEX, Discover, MasterCard and Visa) and cash where available.


There may be convenience fees applied to kiosk transactions. These fees are in addition to the other fees and taxes due at the time of renewal. Your renewal notice reflects the total fees due, excluding the convenience fees. 

Locations and Hours of Availability

Service Centers are only available to residents in participating Georgia counties. If your county participates, you may use any other kiosk in the state. Some counties offer extended service hours at partner locations. Hours and locations vary by county.